Past Inquiries

Inquiry Report By Submissions Closed

Committee Secretariat Contact

Parliament House
George Street


Committee Membership

Mrs Linda Lavarch MP, Chair, Member for Kurwongbah
Mrs Rosemary Menkens MP, Deputy Chair, Member for Burdekin
Ms Vicky Darling MP, Member for Sandgate
Mr Chris Foley MP, Member for Maryborough
Mr Evan Moorhead MP, Member for Waterford
Mrs Jann Stuckey MP, Member for Currumbin
Mr Steve Wettenhall MP, Member for Barron River

Functions of the Committee

The information on this page relates to the committee of the 52nd Parliament, which ended with the dissolution of the Parliament on 23 February 2009. 


On 14 February 2008, the Queensland Legislative Assembly, on the motion of the Leader of the House, resolved that:

A select committee, to be known as the Investigation into Altruistic Surrogacy Committee, be appointed from 26 February 2008 to investigate and report on the following matters in relation to altruistic surrogacy in Queensland:

  1. Should altruistic surrogacy be decriminalised in Queensland?
  2. If so,
  • what role should the Queensland Government play in regulating altruistic surrogacy arrangements in Queensland?
  • What criteria, if any, should the commissioning parent/s and/or surrogate have to meet before entering into an altruistic surrogacy arrangement?
  • What role should a genetic relationship between the child and the commissioning parent/s and/or surrogate play in any altruistic surrogacy arrangement?
  • What legal rights and responsibilities should be imposed upon the commissioning parent/s and/or surrogate?
  • What rights should a child born through an altruistic surrogacy arrangement have to access information relating to his or her genetic parentage? Who should hold this information?
  • What, if any, other matters should be considered in the regulation of this issue?

The committee reported to the Legislative Assembly on 8 October 2008 and was subsequently disbanded.