Queensland Electoral and Parliamentary History: Key Dates and Events

2018 – November 2018. The Queensland Parliament commemorates the centenary of the signing of the Armistice, the historic agreement that led to the end of the First World War, by remembering the role of the Parliament during WWI and the 38 former Members of Parliament who served during the war.

2018 – August 2018. PH150 celebrations are held marking the 150th anniversary of the first sitting of the Queensland Parliament in the Parliament House building in George Street, Brisbane on 4 August 1868.

2017 – 25 November. Cynthia Lui, member for Cook, is the first Torres Strait Islander to be elected to Queensland Parliament. Stephen Andrew, member for Mirani, is the first person of South Sea Islander descent to be elected to Queensland Parliament.

2017 – May. Redistribution of Electoral Districts, the third by the independent Commission established under the Electoral Act 1992 (Qld). In the redistribution, the number of electorates increased to 93; two electorates were removed and six new electorates were formed. Ten electorates were renamed. Four electorates over 100,000 km2 were retained.

2016 – 5 May. The Electoral (Improving Representation) and Other Legislation Amendment Act 2016 (Qld) increased the number of members of the Legislative Assembly from 89 members to 93 from the next election. The Act also introduced full preferential voting.

2016 – 19 March. Referendum passed to approve the Constitution (Fixed Term Parliament) Amendment Bill 2015 (Qld). The Bill amended the Constitution of Queensland 2001 to provide for fixed four year terms for the Legislative Assembly.

2015 – 24 March. The member for Nicklin, Peter Wellington, was elected the first independent speaker of the Queensland Parliament since William Armstrong, who held the position from 1911 to 1915.

2013 - 25 September. The Speakers of the Queensland Parliament and the Parliament of Papua New Guinea entered into a Parliamentary Partnership Agreement, to promote shared understanding and stronger Parliaments.

2012 – 15 May. The member for Maroochydore, Fiona Simpson, was elected as Queensland's first female Speaker.

2011 – May 2011. Parliament (Reform and Modernisation) Act 2011 (Qld). Provided for the establishment of portfolio committees to examine Bills before the House and subordinate legislation in the portfolio area and undertake the Estimates process for Appropriation Bills.

2010 – The Queensland Parliament celebrated its 150th anniversary during the May sitting week.

2005 – 11 May. Centenary of Queensland women obtaining the right to vote in Queensland elections. Also the anniversary of the election of Queensland's first female parliamentarian, Irene Longman, who was elected as Member for Bulimba in 1929.

2004 – 18 June. Queensland Parliament adopted new Standing Rules and Orders recommended by the Standing Orders Committee, which are still in use.

2002 – 8 August. Queensland Parliament allowed petitions to be sent electronically (e-petitions).

2002 – From 3-5 September, the Queensland Parliament sat in Townsville, which is the first time it has sat outside Brisbane in its history. Regional sitting of Queensland Parliament have subsequently been held in Rockhampton (2005), Cairns (2008) and Mackay (2011).

2001 Constitution of Queensland 2001 (Qld) and the Parliament of Queensland Act 2001 (Qld) modernised the legislation in relation to the executive, judicial and legislative branches of Government, the Legislative Assembly, its members and committees.

1999 – July. First electoral redistribution by a Redistribution Commission under the Electoral Act 1992 (Qld).

1991 Electoral Districts Act 1991 (Qld). Abolished zones of representation and created 89 electoral districts.

1988 Parliamentary Service Act 1988 (Qld). Established Parliamentary Service Commission and role of the Clerk as the chief executive officer of the Parliamentary Service.

1985 Electoral Districts Act 1985 (Qld). Divided Queensland into four zones of representation: South-Eastern with 51 electoral districts; Provincial Cities with 13 electoral districts; Western and Far Northern with 8 electoral districts; Country with 17 electoral districts and a total of 89 electorates.

1980-82 – Renovation of Parliament House, including the building of the porte cochere, completed.

1979 – Parliamentary Annexe completed.

1974 – Eric Deeral, member for Cook, was the first Indigenous person elected to Queensland Parliament.

1973 Elections Act and the Criminal Code Amendment Act 1973 (Qld). Voting age reduced to 18 years.

1971 Elections Act Amendment Act 1971 (Qld): Enrolment and voting compulsory for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

1965 Elections Act Amendment Act 1965 (Qld): Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people granted right to enrol and vote but exempt from compulsory enrolment.

1959 Elections Act Amendment Act 1959 (Qld): British subjects who were natives of Asia or Africa enfranchised.

1958 Electoral Districts Act 1958 (Qld): Divided Queensland into three zones of representation: Metropolitan with 28 electoral districts; Provincial Cities with 12 electoral districts; Country with 38 electoral districts and a total of 78 electorates.

1949 Electoral Districts Act 1949 (Qld): Introduced the system of zones of representation with 75 electorates in four zones.

1931 Electoral Districts Act 1931 (Qld): Electorates reduced from 72 to 62.

1929 – Irene Longman, member for Bulimba, was the first woman elected to Queensland Parliament.

1922 Constitution Act Amendment Act 1922 (Qld): Legislative Council abolished.

1915 Elections Act Amendment Act 1915 (Qld): Women permitted to stand for election to the Legislative Assembly, but not eligible to be appointed to the Legislative Council.

1914 Elections Act Amendment Act 1914 (Qld): Compulsory registration and voting.

1910 Electoral Districts Act 1910 (Qld): Divided Queensland into 72 electorates.

1905 Elections Act Amendment Act 1905 (Qld): Female suffrage; voting age 21; property qualification abolished; Indigenous people and certain non-European immigrants still disqualified.

1899 Australasian Federation Enabling Act 1899 (Qld). Made way for Queensland to join the Federation of Australia.

1892Electoral Districts Act 1892 (Qld): 61 electorates, 72 members.

1887 Electoral Districts Act 1887 (Qld): 60 electorates, 72 members.

1878 Electoral Districts Act 1878 (Qld): 42 electorates, 55 members.

1872 Electoral Districts Act 1872 (Qld): 42 one-member electorates.

1868 – 4 August. First sitting in the new Parliament House.

1865 – 14 July. Foundation stone of Parliament House laid by Sir George Bowen.

1860 – 27 April-11 May. First Elections: 16 electorates with 26 members for the Legislative Assembly; 11 nominees to the Legislative Council for a period of five years.

1859 – 6 June. Order-in-Council provided for separation of Queensland from New South Wales.