Past Inquiries

Inquiry Report By Submissions Closed

Committee Secretariat Contact

Parliament House
George Street


Committee Membership

Mr Andrew Fraser MP, Chair, Member for Mt Coot-tha
Mr Mike Horan MP, Deputy Chair Member for Toowoomba South
Mr Michael Caltabiano MP, Member for Chatsworth*
Mrs Liz Cunningham MP, Member for Gladstone
Mr Simon Finn MP, Member for Yeerongpilly
Ms Rachel Nolan MP, Member for Ipswich
Mr Craig Wallace MP, Member for Thuringowa

(*Mr Michael Caltabiano MP, Member for Chatsworth, replaced Dr Bruce Flegg MP, Member for Moggill, on the committee effective from 29.09.05)

Functions of the Committee

The information on this page relates to the committee of the 51st Parliament, which was discharged after the tabling of its report.


The Impact of Petrol Pricing Select Committee was a select committee established by a motion of the Queensland Legislative Assembly on 25 August 2005 to consult with the community, investigate, report on and make recommendations on petrol pricing in Queensland. In particular, the committee was requested to: 

  1. consider the extent to which current petrol price increases the competitiveness of alternative fuel sources such as E-10;
  2. identify the economic and financial consequences of current fuel prices with a particular emphasis on regional Queensland and outer metropolitan areas;
  3. identify practical ways that consumers can reduce their petrol bills, including through considering whether existing information on the fuel-efficiency of different makes of motor vehicles is sufficient;
  4. consider the extent to which recent fuel increases could be moderated through enhanced domestic competition, including how the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission powers could be strengthened to deliver enhanced competition;
  5. examine whether Queensland receives its fair share of road funding; and
  6. identify the capacity and benefits of the federal government reducing fuel excise to ameliorate the impact of high fuel prices on families and businesses.

The motion required the committee to report to the House by 31 March 2006. On 30 March 2006, the House extended this to 7 April 2006.

The Impact of Petrol Pricing Select Committee reported on Tuesday, 4 April 2006 and was subsequently discharged.