Past Inquiries

Inquiry Report By Submissions Closed

Committee Secretariat Contact

Parliament House
George Street


Committee Membership

Mr Duncan Pegg MP, Member for Stretton (Chair),
Mr Jon Krause MP, Member for Scenic Rim (Deputy Chair)
Ms Sandy Bolton MP, Member for Noosa
Mr Mark Boothman MP, Member for Theodore
Ms Cynthia Lui MP, Member for Cook
Mrs Charis Mullen MP, Member for Jordan

Functions of the Committee

The information on this page relates to the committee of the 56th Parliament. This committee ceased to exist on 21 May 2020 by a motion in the House.


The Innovation, Tourism Development and Environment Committee was established by the Queensland Legislative Assembly on 15 February 2018 as a portfolio committee. The committee has responsibility for the following areas:

  • Innovation and Tourism Industry Development and Cross River Rail
  • Environment and the Great Barrier Reef, Sciences and the Arts

In relation to its areas of responsibility, the committee:

  • examines Bills to consider the policy to be enacted
  • examines the estimates of each department
  • examines Bills for the application of the fundamental legislative principles set out in section 4 of the Legislative Standards Act 1992
  • considers the lawfulness of subordinate legislation
  • assesses the public accounts of each department in regard to the integrity, economy, efficiency and effectiveness of financial management by:
    • examining government financial documents
    • considering the annual and other reports of the Auditor-General.
  • considers departments’ public works in light of matters including the:
    • suitability of the works for the purpose
    • necessity for the works
    • value for money of the works
    • revenue produced by, and recurrent costs of, the works, or estimates of revenue and costs
    • present and prospective public value of the works
    • procurement methods used for the works
    • actual suitability of the works in meeting the needs in and achieving the stated purpose of the works.

The committee may initiate an inquiry into any matter it considers appropriate within its portfolio area.   

The committee must investigate any issue referred to it by the Legislative Assembly or under an Act, whether or not the issue is within the committee’s areas of responsibility.