Past Inquiries

Inquiry Report By Submissions Closed

Committee Secretariat Contact

Parliament House
George Street


Committee Membership

Mr Jim Pearce MP, Chair, Member for Fitzroy
Hon. Vince Lester MP, Deputy Chair, Member for Keppel
Ms Rosa Lee Long MP, Member for Tablelands
Ms Carolyn Male MP, Member for Glass House
Mrs Dianne Reilly MP, Member for Mudgeeraba
Miss Elisa Roberts MP, Member for Gympie
Mrs Christine Scott MP, Member for Charters Towers

Functions of the Committee

The information on this page relates to the committees of the 46th - 52nd Parliament, which ended with the dissolution of the Parliament on 23 February 2009.


The Travelsafe Committee of the 52nd Parliament was established by the Queensland Legislative Assembly on 11 October 2006. 

The committee examined all aspects of road safety and public transport and, in particular, had the responsibility to monitor, investigate and report on:

  • issues affecting road safety including the causes of road crashes and measures aimed at reducing deaths, injuries and economic costs to the community;
  • the safety of passenger transport services, and measures aimed at reducing the incidence of related deaths and injuries; and
  • measures for the enhancement of public transport in Queensland and reducing dependence on private motor vehicles as the predominant mode of transport.