Past Inquiries

Inquiry Report By Submissions Closed

Committee Secretariat Contact

Parliament House
George Street


Committee Membership

Hon Judy Spence MP, Chair, Member for Sunnybank
Mr Lawrence Springborg MP, Deputy Chair, Member for Southern Downs
Mr Simon Finn MP, Member for Yeerongpilly
Mr Mike Horan MP, Member for Toowoomba South
Ms Carolyn Male MP, Member for Pine Rivers
Mr Evan Moorhead MP, Member for Waterford
Mrs Dorothy Pratt MP, Member for Nanango
Hon Robert Schwarten MP, Member for Rockhampton
Mr Jeff Seeney MP, Member for Callide

Functions of the Committee

The information on this page relates to the committee of the 53rd Parliament, which was discharged after the tabling of its report.


Terms of reference

The Review of the Parliamentary Committee System Committee was established by the Parliament on 25 February 2010 to inquire and report on how the Parliamentary oversight of legislation could be enhanced and how the Parliamentary Committee system could be strengthened to enhance accountability.

In undertaking this inquiry, the Committee was asked to consider—

  • the role of Parliamentary committees in both Australian and international jurisdictions in examining legislative proposals, particularly those with unicameral parliaments;
  • timely and cost effective ways by which Queensland Parliamentary Committees could more effectively evaluate and examine legislative proposals; and
  • the effectiveness of the operation of the committee structure of the 53rd Parliament following the restructure of the committee system on 23 April 2009.

The committee should include in its report options on models for structuring the Queensland Parliamentary Committee system.