Welcome to the Queensland Parliament web site - accessibility access keys available by clicking here or by using access key 9, sitemap available under access key 2Skip to Main Content or by using access key 0View Access KeysGo to sitemapGo to useful linksGo to contact usGo to latest sitting weekGo to current members listView Access KeysRemote Access


Dittmer, Dr Felix Cyril Sigismund

View print friendly version


Birth Date: 27 June 1904 (Dugandan, Queensland, Australia)

Death Date: 29 August 1977 (Brisbane, Queensland, Australia)

Parents: Gustav Dittmer and Marie Ferris (nee Massie)

Family: Elizabeth Crow on 29 October 1925, 2 sons, 4 daughters

Education: Bowen Convent School; Childers State School; Nudgee College; University of Queensland, Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science (scholarship); University of Sydney, Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (Hons)

Religion: Roman Catholic


Medical practitioner, Proserpine; Ear, nose and throat surgeon; Property investor; Honorary surgeon, Mater Hospital; Chairman of Directors, Dittmer Gold Mines

Party Positions:

  1. (ALP) Deputy Leader, Queensland ALP, 1947

Military Service: Served in 2nd AIF, Royal Australian Army Medical Corps, Captain

Parliamentary Representation:

House Party Electorate From To Elected/Departure Reason
Assembly ALP Mount Gravatt 29 Apr 1950 3 Aug 1957

Other Seats: Federal Senator, 1959 to 1971; Chairman, Federal Labor Repatriation Health and Social Services Committee; Member , Australian Delegation the 17th Session General Assembly United Nations, 1962; Member, Parliamentary Delegation to South America, 1965

Additional Information

Notes: Interests included tennis and reading. Member: Senate University of Queensland; Johnsonian Club, United Services Club; and Tattersalls Club. Patron, Lynndon Bowls Club

Sources: Image courtesy of the National Library of Australia, reference vn4350856; Telegraph, `Felix Dittmer on his "Assassination"', 1 Sep 1969, p. 2; Waterson, DB and John Arnold, A Biographical Register of the Queensland Parliament: 1930-1980, (Canberra: ANU Press, 1982)

[Last Modified: Tuesday, 27 June 2017]