Inquiry Status Report By Submissions Close

Committee Secretariat Contact

Parliament House George Street Brisbane Qld 4000

Phone: +61 7 3553 6657


Committee Membership

Hon Mark Bailey MP, Member for Miller, Chair
Mr James Lister MP, Member for Southern Downs
Ms Margie Nightingale MP, Member for Inala
Mr Nick Dametto MP, Member for Hinchinbrook
Mr Barry O’Rourke MP, Member for Rockhampton
Mr Darren Zanow, Member for Ipswich West

Functions of the Committee

The Education, Employment, Training and Skills Committee of the 57th Parliament was established by the Queensland Legislative Assembly on 13 February 2024 as a portfolio committee. 

The committee has responsibility for the following portfolio areas:

  • Education and Youth Justice
  • Employment, Small Business, Training and Skills Development

In relation to its areas of responsibility, the committee:

  • examines Bills and subordinate legislation to consider the policy to be enacted and the application of the fundamental legislative principles set out in section 4 of the Legislative Standards Act 1992 and compatibility with the Human Rights Act 2019.
  • examines the estimates of each department
  • investigates any issue referred to it by the Legislative Assembly or under an Act, whether or not the issue is within the committee’s areas of responsibility
  • assesses public accounts in its portfolio area in regard to integrity, economy, efficiency and effectiveness of financial management
  • assesses public works in its portfolio area in regard to the suitability of the works for the purpose.

The committee may initiate an inquiry into anything it considers appropriate within its portfolio area. 

You can subscribe to receive email updates about the work of the Queensland Parliament and its committees. 


Dr Amanda Cavill, Committee Secretary
Dr Kit Kowol, Assistant Committee Secretary
Ms Alethea Briggs, Committee Support Officer


Please note that not all committee hearings and briefings are broadcast.

Watch live and archived broadcasts of the Education, Employment, Training and Skills Committee here.