Inquiry Status Report By Submissions Close

Committee Secretariat Contact

Parliament House George Street Brisbane Qld 4000

Phone: (07) 3553 6662

Fax: (07) 3553 6699

Email: [email protected]

Committee Membership

Mr Chris Whiting MP, Member for Bancroft, Chair
Mr Jim McDonald MP, Member for Lockyer, Deputy Chair
Mr Michael Hart MP, Member for Burleigh
Mr Robbie Katter MP, Member for Traeger
Mr Jim Madden MP, Member for Ipswich West
Mr Tom Smith MP, Member for Bundaberg

Functions of the Committee

The State Development and Regional Industries Committee of the 57th Parliament was established by the Queensland Legislative Assembly on 26 November 2020 as a portfolio committee.

The committee has responsibility for the following portfolio areas:

  • State Development, Infrastructure, Local Government and Planning
  • Agricultural Industry Development, Fisheries and Rural Communities
  • Regional Development, Manufacturing and Water

In relation to its areas of responsibility, the committee:

  • examines Bills and subordinate legislation to consider the policy to be enacted and the application of the fundamental legislative principles set out in section 4 of the Legislative Standards Act 1992 and compatibility with the Human Rights Act 2019.
  • examines the estimates of each department
  • investigates any issue referred to it by the Legislative Assembly or under an Act, whether or not the issue is within the committee’s areas of responsibility
  • assesses public accounts in its portfolio area in regard to integrity, economy, efficiency and effectiveness of financial management
  • assesses public works in its portfolio area in regard to the suitability of the works for the purpose.

The committee may initiate an inquiry into anything it considers appropriate within its portfolio area.

The committee also has a monitor and review function in relation to the performance of the functions of the Independent Assessor.

You can subscribe to receive email updates about the work of the Queensland Parliament and its committees.


Ms Stephanie Galbraith, Committee Secretary
Ms Rachelle Stacey, Assistant Committee Secretary
Ms Meredith Freiberg, Committee Support Officer


Please note that not all committee hearings and briefings are broadcast.

Watch live and archived broadcasts of the State Development and Regional Industries Committee here.