Inquiry Status Report By Submissions Close

Committee Secretariat Contact

Parliament House George Street BRISBANE QLD 4000

Phone: 07 3553 6626


Committee Membership

Mr Aaron Harper MP, Member for Thuringowa, Chair
Mr Robert (Rob) Molhoek MP, Member for Southport, Deputy Chair
Mr Stephen (Steve) Andrew MP, Member for Mirani
Ms Ali King MP, Member for Pumicestone
Mr James Martin MP, Member for Stretton 
Mr Andrew Powell, Member for Glass House

Functions of the Committee

The Health and Environment Committee of the 57th Parliament was established as a portfolio committee of the Queensland Legislative Assembly on 26 November 2020 as a portfolio committee. 

The committee has responsibility for the portfolio areas:

  • Health, Mental Health, Ambulance Services and Women
  • Environment, Great Barrier Reef, Science and Multicultural Affairs

The Health and Environment Committee gained responsibility on 23 May 2023 for the following portfolio areas: 

  • Women (from the Legal Affairs and Safety Committee)
  • Multicultural Affairs (from the Community Support and Services Committee).

In relation to its areas of responsibility, the committee:

  • examines Bills and subordinate legislation to consider the policy to be enacted and the application of the fundamental legislative principles set out in section 4 of the Legislative Standards Act 1992 and compatibility with the Human Rights Act 2019.
  • examines the estimates of each department
  • investigates any issue referred to it by the Legislative Assembly or under an Act, whether or not the issue is within the committee’s areas of responsibility
  • assesses public accounts in its portfolio area in regard to integrity, economy, efficiency and effectiveness of financial management
  • assesses public works in its portfolio area in regard to the suitability of the works for the purpose.

The committee may initiate an inquiry into anything it considers appropriate within its portfolio area.

The committee also has a monitor and review function in relation to the performance of the functions of the operation of the health complaints system.  This includes monitoring and reviewing the performance of the Office of the Health Ombudsman, the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency and the 15 registered health practitioner National Boards. 

You can subscribe to receive email updates about the work of the Queensland Parliament and its committees.

Annual Reports

View: Report No. 26, 57th Parliament - Annual Report 2021-22 - tabled on 4 November 2022
View: Report No. 13, 57th Parliament - Annual Report 2020-21 - tabled on 18 October 2021


Ms Renee Easten, Committee Secretary

Ms Rhyll Duncan, Assistant Committee Secretary

Ms Lizzie Nardo, Committee Support Officer


Please note that not all committee hearings and briefings are broadcast.

Watch live and archived broadcasts of the Health and Environment Committee here.