Welcome to the Queensland Parliament web site - accessibility access keys available by clicking here or by using access key 9, sitemap available under access key 2Skip to Main Content or by using access key 0View Access KeysGo to sitemapGo to useful linksGo to contact usGo to latest sitting weekGo to current members listView Access KeysRemote Access


Demaine, William Halliwell

View print friendly version


Birth Date: 25 February 1859 (Bradford, Yorkshire, England)

Death Date: 18 August 1939 (Maryborough, Queensland, Australia)

Parents: Joseph Demaine and Elizabeth (nee Halliwell)

Family: Mary Susannah Preston on 10 January 1880 at Bradford, 4 sons, 5 daughters

Religion: Agnostic


Apprentice lithographer, Bradford, England; Printer, Uruguay and Argentine, 1874-1879; Founder and editor, Maryborough 'Alert' newspaper, 1898-1939; formed Maryborough General Labourers' Union

Party Positions:

  1. (ALP) Delegate, Australian Labour Federation Convention, 1891
  2. (ALP) Member, Queensland Central Executive, 1892 - 1939
  3. (ALP) President, Queensland Central Executive, 1916 - 1938

Local Government Service: Alderman, Maryborough, 1896-1900; 1924-1939; Mayor of Maryborough, 1933-1939

Parliamentary Representation:

House Party Electorate From To Elected/Departure Reason
Council ALP Legislative Council 10 Oct 1917 23 Mar 1922 Council Abolished
Assembly ALP Maryborough 27 Feb 1937 2 Apr 1938

Additional Information

Notes: President, Maryborough 8-hour Union, 1882; Member, Maryborough Hospital Board. Trustee; Member, Maryborough Grammar School; Member, Maryborough Fire Board

Sources: Image courtesy of John Oxley Library, State Library of Queensland, Neg: 194587 ; Waterson, DB, A Biographical Register of the Queensland Parliament: 1860-1929, 2nd revised edition (Sydney: Casket Publications, 2001); Murphy, D J, 'Demaine, William Halliwell (1859-1939)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 8, Melbourne University Press, 1981, pp 276-277; Hughes, Colin A and BD Graham, Voting for the Queensland Legislative Assembly 1890-1964, (Canberra: ANU, Department of Political Science, 1974)

[Last Modified: Tuesday, 27 June 2017]