Welcome to the Queensland Parliament web site - accessibility access keys available by clicking here or by using access key 9, sitemap available under access key 2Skip to Main Content or by using access key 0View Access KeysGo to sitemapGo to useful linksGo to contact usGo to latest sitting weekGo to current members listView Access KeysRemote Access

Divisional system for the City of Townsville

Eligibility - Queensland residents

Principal Petitioner:

Gregory Harris
138 Francis Street

Total Signatures - 11

Sponsoring Member: Mandy Johnstone MP

Posting Date: 16/02/2011

Tabled Date: 16/02/2011

Responded By: Hon Paul Lucas MP on 17/03/2011

TO: The Honourable the Speaker and Members of the Legislative Assembly of Queensland

The petition of residents of the City of Townsville wish to bring to the attention of the House that the City of Townsville be divided into Divisions with equal number of registered voters / residents within each Division and only one elected representative for each division.


Your petitioners therefore request the House to implement the above mentioned divisional system for the City of Townsville and this must be in place for the next Local Government elections to ensure transparency, local representation and direct accountability of elected councillors.