Welcome to the Queensland Parliament web site - accessibility access keys available by clicking here or by using access key 9, sitemap available under access key 2Skip to Main Content or by using access key 0View Access KeysGo to sitemapGo to useful linksGo to contact usGo to latest sitting weekGo to current members listView Access KeysRemote Access

Cr Stephen Robinson of Division 9 Sunshine Coast Regional Council vs Yaroomba Sekisui House Development

Eligibility - Queensland residents

Principal Petitioner:

Angela Wilson
PO Box 373

Total Signatures - 840

Sponsoring Member: The Clerk of the Parliament

Posting Date: 9/08/2018

Closing Date: 17/09/2018

Tabled Date: 19/09/2018

Responded By: Hon Stirling Hinchliffe MP on 17/10/2018

TO: The Honourable the Speaker and Members of the Legislative Assembly of Queensland

Queensland citizens residents draw to the attention of the House that Councillor Stephen Robinson of Division 9 Sunshine Coast Regional Council at the Local Government elections on March 19, 2016 unequivocally stated that he would respect and adhere to the Town Plan, in particular, as regards the Yaroomba Sekisui House Development Approval Cr Robinson stated publically: "... my pledge to you is that I will defend the Town Plan and I will vote against changing it for any developer".

Community disapproval of this Development Approval is the largest in Queensland with 9288 written objections and 2998 in support.

On July 21 2018, in Sunshine Coast Council Chambers, Cr Robinson disregarded overwhelming opposition against the Sekisui House Development Approval and voted to approve the development which seriously breaches the Sunshine Regional Council Town Plan in many key areas including height, density, traffic and parking issues.

The Sekisui Development Approval was approved by a 6-5 vote with Cr Robinson casting one of the deciding votes.

As a result of the above, Cr Robinson has lost the trust and respect of the majority of his constituents.

Your petitioners, therefore, request the House to note this petition as a vote of no confidence in Councillor Stephen Robinson and take such action as it deems appropriate.