Welcome to the Queensland Parliament web site - accessibility access keys available by clicking here or by using access key 9, sitemap available under access key 2Skip to Main Content or by using access key 0View Access KeysGo to sitemapGo to useful linksGo to contact usGo to latest sitting weekGo to current members listView Access KeysRemote Access

Save our schools

Eligibility - Queensland residents

Principal Petitioner:

Karen Mortimer
PO Box 252
Wulgura Qld 4811

Total Signatures - 819

Sponsoring Member: Annastacia Palaszczuk MP

Posting Date: 11/10/2013

Closing Date: 15/11/2013

Tabled Date: 19/11/2013

Responded By: Hon John-Paul Langbroek MP on 17/12/2013

TO: The Honourable the Speaker and Members of the Legislative Assembly of Queensland

Queensland Residents draws to the attention of the House the decision by the Minister for Education, Training and Employment to close six State Schools in Queensland, namely Charlton SS, Fortitude Valley SS, Nyanda SHS, Old Yarranlea SS, Stuart SS and Toowoomba South SS and the process on which the Minister's decision was based.

Your petitioners, therefore, request the House to stay the closure of the six State Schools named above for at least 12 months, to allow the school communities to offer cash inflow opportunities to ameliorate the State's Budget, i.e.: establish Public Day Care Facilities on school grounds and to work through genuine concerns regarding the viability of each school, to ensure natural justice is served.