Welcome to the Queensland Parliament web site - accessibility access keys available by clicking here or by using access key 9, sitemap available under access key 2Skip to Main Content or by using access key 0View Access KeysGo to sitemapGo to useful linksGo to contact usGo to latest sitting weekGo to current members listView Access KeysRemote Access


Macartney, Sir Edward Henry

View print friendly version


Birth Date: 24 January 1863 (Holywood, County Down, Ireland)

Death Date: 24 February 1956 (Brisbane, Queensland, Australia)

Parents: William Isaac Macartney and Henrietta (nee Dare)

Family: Caroline Tottenham Lucas Cardew on 4 July 1888 at Brisbane, 2 sons

Education: Holywood, Enniskillen, Gracehill and Dublin schools

Religion: Church of England


Staff, Queensland National Bank at Maryborough, Ipswich, Normanton and Townsville branches; Articled clerk, Brisbane and Maryborough, 1885 to 1891; Notary public, 1894; Chairman Director, National Bank of Australasia

Official Awards: Knighted 1930

Parliamentary Representation:

House Party Electorate From To Elected/Departure Reason
Assembly MIN Toowong 24 Nov 1900 27 Aug 1904
Assembly OPP Toowong 27 Aug 1904 5 Feb 1908
Assembly MIN Brisbane North 2 Oct 1909 15 Sep 1911
Assembly MIN Toowong 16 Sep 1911 22 May 1915
Assembly LIB Toowong 22 May 1915 15 Mar 1918
Assembly NAT Toowong 16 Mar 1918 9 Oct 1920

Parliamentary Service

Description From To
Secretary for Public Lands 7 Feb 1911 11 Dec 1912

Additional Information

Notes: Director, Brisbane Newspaper Co; Director, Australian Mutual Provident Society; Director, Finney Isles & Co; Member, Queensland Club; President, Brisbane Golf Club

Sources: Image courtesy of John Oxley Library, State Library of Queensland, Neg: 94527; Waterson, DB, A Biographical Register of the Queensland Parliament: 1860-1929, 2nd revised edition (Sydney: Casket Publications, 2001); Johnston, W Ross, 'Macartney, Sir Edward Henry (1863-1956)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Volume 10, Melbourne University Press, 1986, pp200-201; Hughes, Colin A and BD Graham, Voting for the Queensland Legislative Assembly 1890-1964, (Canberra: ANU, Department of Political Science, 1974)