Welcome to the Queensland Parliament web site - accessibility access keys available by clicking here or by using access key 9, sitemap available under access key 2Skip to Main Content or by using access key 0View Access KeysGo to sitemapGo to useful linksGo to contact usGo to latest sitting weekGo to current members listView Access KeysRemote Access

50th Annual Presiding Officers and Clerks Conference

July 2019 – Queensland Parliament, Brisbane

From 8 July 2019, the honourable Curtis Pitt MP, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Queensland, will host the 50th Annual Presiding Officers and Clerks Conference.


Conference Program

The conference program is here


Conference Booklet

The conference booklet is here



Early Registration at the Parliamentary Annexe reception will open from 3.30pm on Monday 8 July 2019. Normal registration opens at 8.30am on Tuesday 9 July 2019.


Welcome Reception

On Monday 8 July 2019, His Excellency the Governor will host a Welcome Reception at Government House from 5pm to 6pm. Buses will depart from the corner of Alice Street and George Street at 4.30pm.  Delegates will return to the Parliamentary Annexe by 6.30pm.


Conference papers

Details of presenters and conference papers are below [Note: the papers will be uploaded progressively as received.]


Tuesday 9 July


4pm – Former Presiding Officers and Clerks panel discussion

Adjunct Professor Ken Coghill BVSc, PhD, former speaker, Victorian Legislative Assembly  

Coghill Codes of conduct for MPs: a step to enhancing trust


Wednesday 10 July – Theme: Practice and Procedure

 9am Practice and Procedure

Hon Kezia Purick MLA, Speaker, Northern Territory
The role of a Speaker in determining an Opposition

Hon Leslie Williams MP, Deputy Speaker, New South Wales Legislative Assembly
Chairing the Bear Pit – Impressions of a newly elected Speaker


Hon Trevor Mallard MP, Speaker, New Zealand Parliament

Fit-for-Purpose Parliament: reviewing and enhancing parliamentary effectiveness


Hon Togiavalu Pihiga, Speaker, and Ms Cherie Morris-Tafatu, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, Parliament of Niue

Reviewing the Standing Orders – Niue’s experience, Opportunities and Precincts



3.30pm Practicalities of Presiding


Tom Duncan, Clerk, ACT Parliament

An assessment of the ACT Assembly's performance against the updated CPA benchmarks for democratic institutions


Hon Joy Burch MP, Speaker, ACT Parliament

Keeping the legislature modern / The addition of the Integrity Commissioner as an officer of the assembly


Hon Curtis Pitt MP, Speaker, Queensland Legislative Assembly

Balancing freedom of speech with modern social and legal standards 



Thursday 12 July – Theme:  The administration of Parliament and precincts


9am The Administration of Parliaments

Peter Watson MLA, Speaker, Western Australian Legislative Assembly

Speakers’ delegations – Beyond the headlines


Kate Doust MLC, Presiding Officer, Western Australian Legislative Council

The administration of Parliament and precincts

Mr Neil Laurie, Clerk, Queensland Legislative Assembly
Using business process management (and mapping) for the Queensland Parliamentary Service


11am Balancing security and access to the Peoples’ House

Senior Sergeant Rob Fleischer, Security and counter-Terrorism Network Prevention and Protection Group, Security and Counter Terrorism Command, Queensland Police Service

Hon Colin Brooks MLA, Speaker, Victorian Legislative Assembly
Legislative and operational security improvements


2pm Workshop

Dr Matthew Laban
Speakers across the Commonwealth


Jurisdiction Reports

Tuesday 9 July 2019


Solomon Islands


Northern Territory


Jurisdiction Reports

Wednesday 10 July 2019


South Australia



Western Australia

New Zealand


Twinned Parliament Meetings

Wednesday 10 July 2019 11am to 12pm

Queensland / Papua New Guinea / Vanuatu

Committee Room 2, level 6, Parliamentary Annexe


New South Wales / Solomon Islands / Bougainville

Committee Room 1, level 6, Parliamentary Annexe

Victoria / Nauru/ Tuvalu / Fiji

Committee Room 3, level 6, Parliamentary Annexe

Australian Capital Territory / Kiribati

Room 5.04a, level 5, Parliamentary Annexe

South Australia / Tonga

Room 5.04, level 5, Parliamentary Annexe

Tasmania / Samoa

Room 5.05, level 5, Parliamentary Annexe

Western Australia / Cook Islands

Room 5.30a, level 5, Parliamentary Annexe

 Northern Territory / Niue  Dandiir Room





For any inquiries or to notify us of changes to your registration please contact Amanda Honeyman, First Clerk Assistant (Procedure) at [email protected] or on +617 3553 6400.