Welcome to the Queensland Parliament web site - accessibility access keys available by clicking here or by using access key 9, sitemap available under access key 2Skip to Main Content or by using access key 0View Access KeysGo to sitemapGo to useful linksGo to contact usGo to latest sitting weekGo to current members listView Access KeysRemote Access

Elections and Referendums

Elections and Referendums

State-sponsored Referendums

Queenslanders have participated in eight State-sponsored referendums since the establishment of the Queensland Parliament. The first was in 1899 and the last in 2016. Only three of these eight questions have been resolved in the affirmative. The eight referendums are outlined below:

  • 2 September 1899 - Federation Referendum (Approved)
  • 13 April 1910 - Religious Instruction in State Schools (Approved) 
  • 5 May 1917 - Abolition of Legislative Council (Failed)  
  • 30 October 1920 - Prohibition (Brewing manufacture) (Failed) 
  • 6 October 1923 - Prohibition (Failed) 
  • 23 March 1991 - Four-Year Parliamentary Terms (Failed) 
  • 22 February 1992 - Daylight Saving (Failed)
  • 19 March 2016 - Fixed four-year parliamentary terms (Approved)

See also: