

# Select Committee on Ethics

#### Chair

Mr David Gibson MP

#### **Deputy Chair**

Hon Tim Mulherin MP

### Members

Mr John Hathaway MP
Mr Ian Rickuss MP
Mr Carl Judge MP
Mr Curtis Pitt MP

## Correspondence and enquiries to:

Select Committee on Ethics Parliament House George Street Brisbane Qld 4000

> Tel: (07) 3406 7671 Fax: (07) 3406 7070

Email: <a href="mailto:sce@parliament.qld.gov.au">sce@parliament.qld.gov.au</a>

# **MEDIA RELEASE**

### Statement from the Select Committee on Ethics

The Select Committee on Ethics was established by a resolution of the Legislative Assembly on 21 November 2013 to investigate and report on matters relating to the evidence of Dr Ken Levy, the Acting Chairperson of the Crime and Misconduct Commission, to the Parliamentary Crime and Misconduct Committee (the PCMC).

The Select Committee is aware that there has been significant public and media interest in these matters, however it is also cognisant of the need to afford procedural fairness to all persons involved in the conduct of its inquiry, and of the need to ensure that a measured and considered approach is taken to its deliberations at all times.

The Committee has met regularly over the Parliamentary recess and is continuing its detailed examination of the large volume of material related to Dr Levy's appearances before the PCMC. Once such examination is complete, the Committee will be in a better position to make an informed determination about whether or not further hearings into this matter are warranted.

Further information will be made available to the media and the public at that time.

David Gibson MP, Chair.