

Economics and Governance Committee

Public Hearing Program

Monday 20 January 2020 9:15am to 3:30pm

Committee Room 3, Level 6, Parliamentary Annexe, Brisbane

Electoral and Other Legislation (Accountability, Integrity and Other Matters) Amendment Bill 2019

Bill 2019		
Public Hearing		
Time	Witness	Submission
9:15am – 9:45am	Professor Graeme Orr, TC Beirne School of Law, University of Queensland	003
	 The Centre for Public Integrity (by teleconference) Anthony Whealy QC, Chair Hannah Aulby, Executive Director 	<u>048</u>
9:45am – 10:15am	 Queensland Human Rights Commission Neroli Holmes, Deputy Commissioner Sean Costello, Principal Lawyer 	<u>017</u>
	Human Rights Law Centre ◆ Alice Drury, Senior Lawyer	<u>053</u>
10:15am – 10:50am	 Queensland Council of Social Services Ltd Laura Barnes, Senior Manager – Policy, Advocacy and Capacity 	<u>045</u>
	 Queensland Community Alliance Devett Kennedy, Lead Organiser Kerrin Benson, CEO, Multicultural Australia (Board Member, Community Alliance) 	035
	Krystian Seibert, Industry Fellow, Centre for Social Impact, Swinburne University of Technology (by teleconference)	<u>014</u>
10:50am – 11:05am	Break	
11.05am – 11:35am	Environmental Defenders Office Queensland • Deborah Brennan, Senior Solicitor	018
	 Australian Conservation Foundation Jolene Elbert, Democracy Campaigner Tina Pandeloglou, General Counsel (by teleconference) 	<u>047</u>

Electoral and Other Legislation (Accountability, Integrity and Other Matters) Amendment Bill 2019

Public Hearing		
Time	Witness	Submission
11:35am – 11:50am	Queensland Council of UnionsDr John Martin, Research and Policy Officer	<u>028</u>
11:50am – 12:05pm	 GetUp! Andrew Blake, Project Lead – Democracy & Risk Daney Faddoul, Political Director 	<u>030</u>
12:05pm – 12:20pm	Jennifer Menzies, Principle Research Fellow, Policy Innovation Hub, Griffith Business School, Griffith University	<u>009</u>
12:20pm – 12:40pm	 Electoral Commission of Queensland Pat Vidgen, Electoral Commissioner Wade Lewis, Assistant Electoral Commissioner Julie Cavanagh, Executive Director, Election Events Management Mel Mundy, Director, Funding, Disclosure and Compliance 	<u>041</u>
12:40pm – 1:30pm	 Local Government Association of Queensland Greg Hallam, Chief Executive Officer Georgia Stafford, Lead – Intergovernmental Relations 	<u>015</u>
	 Logan City Council Tamara O'Shea, Interim Administrator Silvio Trinca, Acting Chief Executive Officer 	038
	 Fraser Coast Regional Council (by teleconference) Ken Diehm, Chief Executive Officer Councillor David Lewis 	<u>025</u>
	Local Government Managers Australia Queensland (by teleconference) • Brett de Chastel, President	<u>064</u>
1:30pm – 1:45pm	Break	
1:45pm – 2:15pm	Brisbane Residents United Inc • Elizabeth Handley, President	<u>055</u>
	SEQ Alliance • Chris Walker, President	<u>026</u>
	 Queensland Local Government Reform Alliance Inc Greg Smith, Management Committee 	<u>012</u>
	 OSCAR (Organisation of Sunshine Coast Association of Residents) Melva Hobson, President 	<u>013</u>
2:15pm – 2:35pm	 Office of the Independent Assessor Kathleen Florian, Independent Assessor Charles Kohn, Deputy Independent Assessor Nicole Butler, Director, Media and Engagement 	<u>060</u>

Electoral and Other Legislation (Accountability, Integrity and Other Matters) Amendment Bill 2019

Public Hearing		
Time	Witness	Submission
2:35pm – 3:05pm	 Crime and Corruption Commission, Queensland Alan MacSporran QC, Chairperson 	<u>051</u>
	 Queensland Integrity Commissioner Dr Nikola Stepanov, Integrity Commissioner 	<u>057</u>
3:05pm – 3:30pm	 Queensland Law Society (QLS) Luke Murphy, President Calvin Gnech, Chair, QLS Occupational Discipline Law Committee Myles McGregor-Lowndes, Member, QLS Not for Profit Law Committee 	<u>059</u>
	Queensland Council for Civil LibertiesMichael Cope, President	<u>042</u>