#### - MINUTES -

A meeting of the <u>Travelsafe Committee</u> was held in Room 5.04, Level 5 of the Parliamentary Annexe on Monday, 28 May 1990 at 4.45 pm.

### Members Present:

Mr Ardill (Chairman), Mrs Bird, Messrs Lester, Dollin, Goss, Springborg and Fenlon.

In attendance - Mr Bletchly Clerk-Assistant (Committees).

## Confirmation of

The minutes of the meeting of 14 May 1990 were confirmed moved Mr Lester seconded Ms Bird.

# Briefing by Officers of the Department of Transport:

Messrs Goebel, Larsen and Woodbury of the Department of Transport briefed the Committee in terms of the research material identified by the Committee at its meeting on 14 May as being of interest.

Mr Goebel undertook to inform the Committee in writing on further matters raised in the meeting.

Noted apologies tendered by the Acting Director-General of Transport.

#### Announcement of Enquiry:

Agreed to discuss announcement of enquiry at next meeting.

Agreed press release to be made clarifying the position of the Committee with regard to compulsory inspections.

### Members Salaries:

The Chairman reported that an appropriate letter had been forwarded to the Premier.

#### Staffing:

The Clerk-Assistant (Committees) reported that The Clerk of the Parliament had approved the secondment of an officer of the Department of Transport from a date to be fixed.

## Inward Correspondence:

Mrs Beech - Agreed to acknowledge and thank for contribution.

Minister for Transport - noted.

- 2 -

Next Meeting:

Agreed next meeting to be held on 4 June 1990 at 4.30 pm.

The meeting closed at 6.50 pm.

Confirmed this

day of

1990.

rengraun

Chairman