

The Honourable Scott Emerson MP Minister for Transport and Main Roads

Our ref: PET 12855

Your ref: 10.4 Petitions

1 2 SEP 2014

Mr Neil Laurie The Clerk of the Parliament Parliament House George Street Brisbane Qld 4000

Dear Mr Laurie

I refer to a petition number 2296-14 lodged with the Legislative Assembly by Ms Verity Barton MP, Member for Broadwater on 26 August 2014 about bus services in Broadwater.

Level 15 Capital Hill Building

Queensland 4001 Australia Telephone +61 7 3237 1111 Facsimile +61 7 3224 2493

85 George Street Brisbane 4000 GPO Box 2644 Brisbane

Email tmr@ministerial.qld.gov.au Website www.tmr.qld.gov

In regard to the concerns raised by constituents about the availability of bus routes travelling south beyond Southport, I can confirm that bus services in the area were amended in order to integrate with the new Gold Coast Light Rail. Buses in the area have been changed to take passengers to their nearest main transport hub (in this case Southport Light Rail Station) at which point they can transfer onto connecting services to access other areas of the Gold Coast. As a result, this change has meant a shorter overall journey time for some passengers.

I understand that some customers would prefer a single seat journey for their travel. However, these changes support the aim of delivering an efficient and integrated multi-modal network and is recognised as a necessary part of an improved, efficient and affordable public transport system.

I can also confirm that as part of the recent bus network review, the span of hours of operation for the bus services from Southport to Paradise Point, Runaway Bay and Labrador were reduced where it was identified that patronage numbers failed to support the provision of additional services.

I can assure you that the Department of Transport and Main Roads will continue to monitor the performance of the new routes to ensure they are providing an efficient and reliable service that meets the needs of the Gold Coast community.

Yours sincerely

Scott Emerson MP

Minister for Transport and Main Roads