

The Honourable Scott Emerson MP Minister for Transport and Main Roads

> Level 15 Capital Hill Building 85 George Street Brisbane 4000 GPO Box 2644 Brisbane Queensland 4001 Australia **Telephone +61 7 3237 1111** Facsimile +61 7 3224 2493 Email tmr@ministerial.qld.gov.au Website www.tmr.qld.gov

Our ref: PP1875-12

Your ref: Petitions

0 4 JUN 2012

Mr Neil Laurie The Clerk of the Parliament Parliament House George Street Brisbane Qld 4000

Dear Mr Laurie

I refer to a petition number 1875-12 lodged with the Legislative Assembly on 17 May 2012, about the registration of bicycles.

The suggestion of registering bicycles as a solution to identify and address irresponsible riding behaviour is noted. However, a registration fee would likely deter people from using a bicycle as a smart and sustainable mode of transport. Most adult cyclists already own a car, pay registration and are licensed drivers. Through registration, rates and general taxes, cyclists are already contributing towards the cost of bike paths, road construction and maintenance and road safety campaigns.

Even a modest registration fee would impact on those Queenslanders who are least able to pay. These persons include children, pensioners and the unemployed who enjoy the low cost and healthy transport option that cycling offers.

Cycling is a healthy and environmentally sustainable transport option that generates minimal road damage and effectively reduces air and noise pollution. It has significant benefits for health, the environment and tourism as well as having positive local impacts in connecting communities.

The Department of Transport and Main Roads is committed to encouraging safe cycling and has a range of information available on its website at www.transport.qld.gov.au.

In safely sharing Queensland roads, all road users have a responsibility to obey the laws and be tolerant of other users. I believe that with continued education and goodwill, all road users can co-exist safely on Queensland's road network.

Yours sincerely

Scott Emerson MP Minister for Transport and Main Roads