Level 18 Mineral House 41 George Street PO Box 15031 City East Queensland 4002 Australia Telephone +61 7 3234 1870 Facsimile +61 7 3012 8901

Email localgovt@ministerial.qld.gov.au Website www.dlgcrr.qld.gov.au

Our ref: MC13/1149

Your ref: 10.4 Petitions

1 1 APR 2013

Mr Neil Laurie The Clerk of the Parliament Parliament House Corner Alice and George Streets BRISBANE QLD 4000

## Dear Mr Laurie

Thank you for your letter of 21 March 2013 about Petition 2081-13 received by the Queensland Legislative Assembly.

Prior to the forced amalgamation of Councils in 2008 the areas of Watsonville, Irvinebank and Walsh River were all part of the former Mareeba Shire Council.

In 2012 the Government implemented a process to give all communities impacted by the 2008 forced amalgamations the opportunity to submit proposals for de-amalgamation. This process resulted in the residents of the former Mareeba Shire Council being given the opportunity to vote on de-amalgamation from the Tablelands Regional Council.

As the 9 March 2013 poll resulted in the majority of voters being in favour of de-amalgamation, I am currently in the process of implementing the administrative arrangements necessary to progress the de-amalgamation with a view to the new Mareeba Shire Council commencing from 1 January 2014.

During the process it was made clear to the community that if de-amalgamation were to progress it would be to the same boundaries that existed for the council immediately prior to the 2008 amalgamations. I will not be considering any alteration to those boundaries at this time.

However, in the longer term the *Local Government Act 2009* provides, subject to certain provisions and criteria being met, a process for alterations of local government boundaries. If, once the current de-amalgamation is completed, the communities of Watsonville, Irvinebank and Walsh River and the councils can agree on a proposal to alter the boundaries it could be referred to the independent Local Government Change Commission for assessment.

If you require any further information, please contact Gary Kleidon, Director, Office of the Queensland Boundaries Commission, on (07) 3006 4199 or gary.kleidon@dlg.qld.gov.au, who will be pleased to assist.

Yours sincerely

David Crisafulli MP

Minister for Local Government, Community Recovery and Resilience