

Hon David Crisafulli MP Minister for Local Government, Community Recovery and Resilience

Our ref: MC13/2115 Your ref: 10.4 Petitions Level 18 Mineral House 41 George Street PO Box 15031 City East Queensland 4002 Australia Telephone +61 7 3234 1870 Facsimile +61 7 3012 8901 Email localgovt@ministerial.qld.gov.au Website www.dlgcrr.qld.gov.au

4 July 2013

Mr Neil Laurie The Clerk of the Parliament Parliament House Cnr Alice and George Streets BRISBANE QLD 4000

Dear Mr Laurie

Thank you for your letter of 6 June 2013 about Petition 2130-13 received by the Queensland Legislative Assembly.

Prior to the forced amalgamation of Queensland councils in 2008, the Kuranda district was part of the former Mareeba Shire Council.

In 2012, the Government implemented a process to give all communities impacted by the 2008 amalgamations the opportunity to submit proposals for de-amalgamation. This process resulted in the community of the former Mareeba Shire Council area being given the opportunity to vote in a poll to determine whether to de-amalgamate from the Tablelands Regional Council. The poll was held on 9 March 2013.

It was always made clear to the community that if the majority vote at the 9 March 2013 poll was in favour of de-amalgamation then it would proceed and that the de-amalgamation would be to the same boundaries that existed for the Mareeba Shire Council immediately prior to the 2008 amalgamations.

I understand that the voting patterns across the entire area fluctuated, with voting in some individual booths, including Kuranda, being opposed to de-amalgamation, however the poll was a poll of the entire area which resulted in a majority 57.9 per cent vote in favour of de-amalgamation.

The Local Government (De-amalgamation Implementation) Regulation 2013, which formally implements the de-amalgamation was enacted on 11 April 2013 and the task of undertaking the work necessary to have the new Mareeba Shire Council established and operational on 1 January 2014 has commenced.

Under the Regulation de-amalgamation will be to the same boundaries as the former Mareeba Shire Council and the Government will not be considering any changes to these boundaries.

If you require any further information, please contact Mr Gary Kleidon, Director, De-amalgamation Support Unit on (07) 3006 4199 or gary.kleidon@dlgcrr.qld.gov.au, who will be pleased to assist.

Yours sincerely

David Confull

David Crisafulli MP Minister for Local Government, Community Recovery and Resilience