

Our ref: MC17/1433

1 8 APR 2017

1 William Street
PO Box 15009 City East
Queensland 4002 Australia
Telephone +61 7 3719 7100
Email deputy.premier@ministerial.qld.gov.au

ABN 90 856 020 239

Mr Neil Laurie
The Clerk of the Parliament
Parliament House
Corner Alice and George Streets
BRISBANE QLD 4000

Dear Mr Jorie Ni

Thank you for your letter of 29 March 2017 about Petitions 2730-17 and 2678-16 lodged with the Legislative Assembly on 21March 2017 about residents' requests that an Australia Post street posting box be installed at the Rededge Convenience Centre, on the corner of Finnegan Way and Celestial Way at Coomera.

While I acknowledge that the draft South East Queensland Regional Plan recognises that Coomera will accommodate significant growth over the next 25 years and that this growth should be serviced appropriately by social and economic infrastructure, a request for an additional street posting box is purely a matter for Australia Post to decide. It is not an issue in which the state government is able to intervene.

In determining such requests, I am advised that Australia Post will consider the population growth in the requested area, the location of existing street posting boxes in the surrounding areas and the volume of mail these boxes receive.

The petitioners or Mr Michael Crandon MP, Member for Coomera are encouraged to send their petition to Australia Post's Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Mr Ahmed Fahour, at 111 Bourke Street, Melbourne, VIC 3000, or by email to resolutions@auspost.com.au.

Alternatively, as Australia Post is a Federal Government-owned entity, with the Federal Government as the only shareholder, the petitioners may wish to make representations to the Federal Minister for Communications and Minister for the Arts, Senator the Honourable Mitch Fifield about this matter. Senator Fifield can be contacted by mail at PO Box 6100, Senate, Parliament House, Canberra ACT 2600, or by email at senator.fifield@aph.gov.au.

Yours sincerely

JACKIE TRAD MP DEPUTY PREMIER

Minister for Transport and

Minister for Infrastructure and Planning