Welcome to the Toowoomba Youth Parliament

Schools from Toowoomba and the surrounding regions are invited to nominate up to 10 Year 5 or Year 6 students to participate in the Toowoomba Youth Parliament, which will be held on Thursday 19 October 2023.

Schools in the following state electorates are eligible to nominate:

- Condamine
- Lockyer
- Nanango
- Scenic Rim
- Toowoomba North
- Toowoomba South
- Warrego (Dalby)

The Youth Parliament is an exciting opportunity for students to debate a motion on a youth issue or speak in an adjournment debate about any issue falling within the jurisdiction of the Queensland Parliament.

The Youth Parliament is hosted by the Queensland Parliament and will be chaired by the Speaker, the Honourable Curtis Pitt MP, along with local Members of Parliament. 

 Date:  Thursday 19 October 2023
 Time:   9.00am   Registration
   9.30am   Student Briefing 
   10.00am   Official opening
   1.30pm   Close and photos
 Location:   Toowoomba  (venue TBA)

Nominations are open until 4pm on Monday 21 August, via Eventbrite.

Common Questions:

How many students can schools nominate?
Schools are invited to nominate up to a maximum of 10 students from Year 5 and 6. The number of student participants allocated per school will depend on the number of schools that nominate for the Youth Parliament.

What is the commitment for teachers and students?

Teacher Briefing

An initial briefing session for teachers will be held via MS Teams video conference. Teachers are to attend either one of two available sessions:

  • 3:30 to 4:00pm on Tuesday 29 August
  • 7:30 to 8:15am on Wednesday 30 August

Teachers from schools participating in the Youth Parliament are required to attend this briefing to receive details of the program and information about other operational and administrative matters.


  • Students will need to prepare a speech to present on the day.

Student Briefing

  • Teachers and students should arrive on the day of the Youth Parliament by 9.00 am to be ready for the start of the 9.30 am final briefing. 



Maria Mead

Education Officer

Email:  parliamentary.education@parliament.qld.gov.au  

Phone: 07 3553 6415