Welcome to the Queensland Parliament web site - accessibility access keys available by clicking here or by using access key 9, sitemap available under access key 2Skip to Main Content or by using access key 0View Access KeysGo to sitemapGo to useful linksGo to contact usGo to latest sitting weekGo to current members listView Access KeysRemote Access

High Tea

Strangers Dining Room

Enjoy High Tea at Queensland Parliament House

The Queensland Parliament is proud to offer High Tea in the Strangers' Dining Room. High Teas are held each month (see the dates below) from 10.30am to midday.

Download the video segment of Channel Seven’s Great South East television program to watch when they visited High Tea in late 2013 (115mb MP4).

We offer two kinds of High Tea - Traditional High Tea and Special High Tea. At each you will be served a selection of delicacies prepared by the Parliament's resident chefs while taking in the beauty of Queensland's premier heritage building.

Traditional High Tea

Cost $40 per person (2013) & $41 per person (2014)

Menu

  • Petit Sandwiches
  • Smoked Salmon, Dill and Onion Sprout
  • Cucumber, Asparagus and Bocconcini
  • Turkey Cranberry and Semi Dry Tomato
  • Savory Quiches
  • Fruit Scones with Cream and Strawberry Preserve
  • Fresh Strawberry Dips in Chocolate
  • Petit Cakes and Pastries
  • Tea and Coffee

2014 Dates

  • Friday, March 14 - fully booked
  • Friday, March 28 - fully booked
  • Friday, May 30 - fully booked
  • Friday, June 20 - fully booked
  • Friday, July 4 - fully booked
  • Friday, July 25 - new date
  • Friday, September 5
  • Friday, October 3
  • Friday, November 7
  • Friday, December 5

Reservations are essential and can be made by phoning Catering on +617 3406 7381 or email bookings@parliament.qld.gov.au.

Following High Tea, all guests will also receive a special guided tour of the Parliament that includes a visit to the heritage O'Donovan Library.

Special High Tea

Cost  $46 per person (2013) and $47 per person (2014)

We have five themed High Tea events each year to celebrate special occasions. To celebrate these occasions, the Special High Teas include a classical string duo playing and a glass of sparkling wine offered to each guest.

2014 Dates

  • Friday, April 11 (Special Easter) - fully booked
  • Friday, May 2 (Special Mother’s Day) - fully booked
  • Friday, June 13 (Special Queen’s Birthday)
  • Friday, August 15 (Special Exhibition)
  • Wednesday, December 17 (Special Christmas)
  • Thursday, December 18 (Special Christmas)
  • Friday, December 19 (Special Christmas)

Reservations are essential and can be made by phoning Catering on 3406 7381 or email bookings@parliament.qld.gov.au.

Guests at all of the Queensland Parliament’s High Tea functions will be offered a special guided tour of the Parliament which includes a visit to the historic O'Donovan Library.